The Cañada de Benatanduz school was open until February 1975. The town hall had been partitioned and divided into two classrooms for boys and girls that are no longer preserved. Today the educational heritage of the school is displayed in the building of the hospital or house of the poor, built by Francisco Mas on August 4, 1568.
It preserves a map of Spain of enormous dimensions from 1898, which has been restored and which used to be displayed next to the slate. Some unique pieces have also been recovered in the Maestrazgo schools as a poster to prevent tuberculosis, a mural of the subtraction table or a box of powdered milk sent by the Americans and distributed by the School Food Service.
The building that today houses the recovered school, annexed to the Town Hall, was also the Hospital for the Poor .